Jonathan Graham
Laura Witherspoon
Stephanie McKenna

Activities:
Skiing
Winter walking skills
Ice climbing (indoor + outdoor)
Rock climbing (routes + bouldering)

The annual Scottish Winter Mountaineering Trip started earlier for some than others. Alistair, Conor and myself (Gareth) headed over to the rugged highlands of Scotland several days early, to take full advantage of the skiing to be had during the winter conditions. Our party of three had quite different levels of ability and experience from complete beginner to fairly experienced.

We started our expedition from the shores of Ireland at Belfast’s Stenaline where Alistair kindly volunteered to drive. With playlists at the ready after disembarking from the ferry terminal we all got settled into the 5h drive across Scotland to the Cairngorms. At Aviemore we picked up ski hire and food for the bunkhouse which is situated just 20 minutes away in a nice village called Grantown-on-Spey. The accommodation was equally as cosy and off the beaten track overlooking the mountain range (perfect for a daily spot of morning night navigation).

Day One, Aviemore Ski Centre (Closed - Due to too much snow and high winds) typical. We checked the other ski resorts and Glenshee was open, so off we headed for a 2h drive. Glenshee is at a slightly lower altitude, out of the wind but consequently less snow. As me and Conor shook off some cob webs, Alistair took his first tentative steps on snow with skis, and through him in at the deep end down a blue run. After enjoying that a second blue was in order which was a bit of a baptism of fire for our beginner accomplice. After several falls later we made it back to the lift where the rest of the day was spent honing our skills.

Day Two, Aviemore Ski Centre - Partially Open, great news. The second we all really started getting back into the groove, pulling some tricks, 360’s, jumps and skiing backwards etc.